View Full Version : Difference between "raw" and "raw vegan" ? [Frustrated]
09-09-2011, 07:15 PM
So my girlfriend and I just decided to go 100% raw. It's been about a week so we are still brand new to everything.
We keep looking at all of the bars that have grains, berries,etc and use agave nectar or honey to keep everything together. The only problem is, a lot of the bars say "raw vegan" instead of just "raw" like some of the other bars do. They all seem to pretty much have the same ingredients.
I cant tell if the store or the brand is being deceptive? Some of the bars actually say 80% raw or something, but a lot of them are very hard to tell. So I guess my question is what is the real difference between "raw" and "raw vegan"?
I dont want to be eating some of these bars and then find out they are not technically 100% raw.
09-09-2011, 07:25 PM
loads of them won't be raw or raw vegan regardless of what they say on the packet. Raw isn't a legal term.
But . . . in theory, raw vegan just means that the ingredients are suitable for both raw and vegan customers as opposed to just raw.
09-09-2011, 08:40 PM
Raw doesn't necessarily mean vegan. Vegan means it contains no animal products. Raw may or may not. Honey is considered non-vegan.
Raw Angel Mom
09-09-2011, 09:34 PM
If you are going raw vegan for health reason, then stay away from bars unless you know that the ingredient has been at least sprouted. It is best if you can make your own snack, if not, you can find something decent.
I am very sensitive to food and i don't seem to respond well with most bars that i tried so far. The only one that were fine were Brandon Brazier and another product that i bought in Vermont. I seems ok with fermented nut such cheese or yogurt. Again you can make this yourself, it is very easy and you can find free information.
If i would eat a snack as a back up or when travelling, i would carry dates or even dry mango (watch out for the process again) or goji berries or mulberries or golden berries. If i am allow to bring fruits, i bring apples, oranges or bananas.
Try to do as much fresh and whole food and alive as possible and the rest as a way to transition.
There is so much corruption with labelling, this is why you need to be informed. Such they can say raw nuts in the States even if it has been pasteurize. Educate yourself.
Congratulations with your journey
09-10-2011, 04:35 AM
If you really want to check up on a particular bar then get on their website and if they do not make it clear there then email them and ask them.
Bars are useful to have around as they can reduce temptation if you are hungry or if you are caught out. Planning is important if you plan to stay 100%.
09-10-2011, 04:39 AM
Do you plan to be 100% vegan. Honey is the main item of contention. Many on this board use honey and you will find that it is included in many raw recipes but can be easily replaced by other sweeteners.
It is not considered as vegan as any food that exploits other creatures is not considered vegan.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.4 Copyright © 2013 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.