PDA

View Full Version : Deal too good to be true?



iDG
12-16-2009, 11:40 AM
I've been researching the purchase of a juicer for about three weeks now with the help of this forum, and was well settled into the idea (having about $100 to spend for now) of getting a used JLL-type centrifugal paired with a Healthy Juicer for grass/greens. Then I found this:

http://sanantonio.craigslist.org/hsh/1488340799.html

I talked with her this morning and and am now driving down from Austin (2 hours) this afternoon to pick it up, because what a deal, right?

Is this too good to be true? Is there just something very wrong with that price? Any thoughts?

Chris

Revvell
12-16-2009, 11:55 AM
Not necessarily. Could be someone just looking to get rid of stuff quick. "Stored in original box" doesn't mean thing. Someone gave me his whatever-it-was "stored in the original box" and it was a piece of crap.

Bring greens with you. Take it apart, put it back together. Plug it in, see if it works. Try it out before you buy it. Make sure all the parts are there.

Certainly nothing wrong with the price but, might be something wrong with the juicer. Then again...maybe not. Wont know until you see it.

Dimond
12-16-2009, 11:57 AM
Not necessarily. Either they just want to quickly get rid of it, don't know the true value or it has issues. It would be nice to be able to test it out if you can, though that would only be a partial test. People sell expensive items all the time for cheap. You may have gotten lucky. Hope it works out.

Also, welcome. :)

lovenlife
12-16-2009, 12:07 PM
People give stuff away free just to get rid of it. I have gotten good stuff on CL...no worry.

iDG
12-16-2009, 05:03 PM
Oh well... got a call a bit later that she was "too busy" to sell it :)

Back to plan A

iDG
12-16-2009, 05:05 PM
Also, welcome. :)

Thanks! This is a whole new world for me.

lovenlife
12-16-2009, 06:27 PM
a great new world at that! You will find one!