View Full Version : Lecithin
11-14-2009, 09:51 AM
I noticed Lecithin is used in the Sweet Gratitude book from Cafe Gratitude. Is it Raw? I dont see it listed in the back of the book either.
11-14-2009, 09:56 AM
I think its used as a thickener. I used it once in an ice cream recipe. I bought some as little grainy looking things from the bulk food bin and have since seen it as a liquid also. I'm sure its not raw but one of those things where some of us look the other way for food preparations sake!
11-14-2009, 10:11 AM
Thanks, I just checked wikipedia and it is not it says a fatty substance occurring in animal and plant tissues and in egg yolks. So does not even sound vegan.
11-14-2009, 10:29 AM
I have heard of soy lecithin. Could that be the one we use?? I don't know.
11-14-2009, 10:50 AM
The Wikippedia article says it can be isolated from soy beans so it CAN be vegan. Not saying it is good for you being soy and all but I think the amounts used and only on occasion can make something turn out or not. Your choice as to whether of not you want to try those recipes.
I ordered a jar of sunflower lecithin (http://www.therawfoodworld.com/product_info.php?products_id=1002747)from Matt Monarch's site. Good company to do business with. It's 100% raw vegan! *Ü*
11-14-2009, 11:27 AM
Awesome info. Thanks.
11-14-2009, 12:47 PM
Thanks for lettung us know about sunflower lecithin. Is it a liquid or a powder? Just curious.
I have some non-GMO soy lecithin that will probably take me a year or two to use up....LOL, but am curious for the future.
Hi MaryKay ~ Here's the info from Matt & Angela's site. I haven't used any yet, but I plan to use it as suggested, in Energy Soup.*Ü*
Oh Man!!! Another product that I am EXTREMELY EXCITED ABOUT!!! In Shazzie's book Evie's Kitchen, she talks about the important nutrient choline for brain development for a child. Choline is also important for adults and is generally only found in animal products and other cooked foods. Processed soy lecithan has been our only vegan source of choline UNTIL NOW!!!
Sunflower Lecithan is a DARK and THICK syrupy substance and I can eat it by the spoonful without messing me up. Lecithan actually emulsifies fat so it was even making the nut butter I ate digest better. I put Almond butter with Sunflower lecithan in my mouth and I felt it dissolving. Angela LOVES putting the Sunflower Lecithan in her energy soup, because it acts as a thicking agent and it makes it taste better while at the same time improving the consistency of the meal.
Unlike Soy Lecithan, Sunflower Lecithan is 100% RAW; it is cold pressed (why it is a bit higher price) - no heat or solvents are used during extraction. It is my prediction that Sunflower Lecithan is going to be the next Raw Chocolate Ingredient.
Sunflower lecithin is a non-GMO emulsifier for use in raw, vegan food products. It is a perfect choice to replace lecithin made from genetically modified soybeans, as well as a prevention against possible soy-related allergies. Sunflower lecithin has a very low odor and neutral taste, and has better stability in its applications with food. Sunflower lecithin is useful in maintaining normal cholesterol levels as part of a low cholesterol diet, is a rich source of phosphatidylcholine for the prevention of gallstones, and contains choline, which is necessary for liver and brain function.
11-15-2009, 10:25 AM
Oh, thanks for the quote. I did go to the site after you posted it, but missed the part about the "dark syrupy substance."....did notice his spelling of "lecithin" though....LOL...
I'll store this away for future ref.
Mine is a powder, and I just went to a workshop by Eva Rawposa, who ground the particles into a fine powder before using it.
I'm going to try some to emulsify my homemeade chocolate. Only ever made it once, was delicious, but I used honey, which would not mix in very well.
Oooh - your class with Eva sounds like fun! I subscribe to her newsletter and would love attending.
Do you subscribe to Matt and Angela's YouTube videos? I've sure learned a lot by watching those. *Ü*
11-15-2009, 02:59 PM
I use Fearn Liquid Lecithin. It is a "pure, unbleached vegetable product in its natural state". I don't care if it is raw or not because I use such it so seldom and in very small quantities, only in exotic desserts that need to be blended extra smooth and creamy.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.4 Copyright © 2013 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.